ISO/IEC 9000

ISO/IEC 9000

There are no products matching the selection.

ISO 9000/9001 books

1 Title/current version of ISO 9000/9001 books
ISO 9001:2008 Quality management systems – Requirements

2 The basics of ISO 9000/9001 books
ISO 9001 is part of the ISO 9000 family of standards, and
represents an international consensus on good quality
management practices. It consists of standards and guidelines
relating to quality management systems and related supporting
standards. General guidance on the fundamentals of Quality
management systems can be found in the publication ISO
9000:2005 – Fundamentals and vocabulary.

3 Summary of ISO 9000/9001 books
ISO 9001, owned and maintained by the International Standards
Organization (ISO) was first published in 1987, based on
British Standards Institute (BSI) BS5750 series. ISO 9001:2000
combined the three standards—9001, 9002, and 9003—into one,
called 9001. The current version is ISO 9001:2008/Cor 1:2009.

The ISO 9000 family addresses ‘Quality management’. This
means what the organization does to fulfill the customer’s quality
requirements, and applicable regulatory requirements, while
aiming to enhance customer satisfaction, and achieve continual
improvement of its performance in pursuit of these objectives.

ISO 9000:2000 has four major generic business processes
• The management of resources
• The quality of the product
• The maintenance of quality records
• The requirement for continual improvement

ISO 9001:2008 is the standard that provides a set of standardized
requirements for a quality management system, regardless
of what the user organization does, its size, or whether it is
in the private, or public sector. It is the only standard in the
family against which organizations can be certified – although
certification is not a compulsory requirement of the standard.
ISO 9001:2008 lays down what requirements a quality system
must meet, but does not dictate how they should be met in any
particular organization. This leaves great scope and flexibility
for implementation in different business sectors and business
cultures, as well as in different national cultures.

The other standards in the family cover specific aspects such
as fundamentals and vocabulary, performance improvements,
documentation, training, and financial and economic aspects.

The quality management system standards of the ISO 9000:2000
and ISO 9000:2008 series are based on eight quality management
principles: customer focus, leadership, involvement of people,
process approach, system approach to management, continual
improvement, factual approach to decision-making and mutually
beneficial supplier relationships. These principles can be used by
senior management as a framework to guide their organizations
towards improved performance.

4 ISO 9000/9001 books Target audience
Managers in any organization that needs to demonstrate that
it has consistent quality processes in place to meet customer
expectations; auditors.

5 Scope and constraints of ISO 9000/9001 books
ISO 9001 deals with the fundamentals of quality management
systems and with the requirements that organizations wishing
to meet the standard have to fulfill. The ISO 9001 standard is
generalized and abstract; its parts must be carefully interpreted
to make sense within a particular organization. Because they are
business management guidelines, the ISO 9001 guidelines can be
applied to a very diverse range of organizations.
• A strong point of ISO 9001 is that it provides a single quality
management ‘requirements’ standard that is applicable to all
organizations, products and services.

• The process can be costly and gaining accreditation may be

6 Relevant website of ISO 9000/9001

Read more

Please wait...

Added to your cart
Shop further or Process to checkout X
Shop further