Grid List

Set Ascending Direction
  1. 1
  2. 2

ITIL® books

1 Title/current version of ITIL® books
ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) 2011

2 The basics of ITIL® books
ITIL® is the most widely accepted approach to IT service
management in the world; it focuses on aligning IT services with
the needs of the business.

3 Summary of ITIL® books
ITIL was created in the 1980s by the UK government’s CCTA
(Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency) with the
objective of ensuring better use of IT services and resources.
ITIL is now owned by Axelos: the current version is ITIL 2011
Edition (published July 2011), which updates ITIL v3.

ITIL advocates that IT services must be aligned with the needs
of the business and underpin the core business processes. It
provides guidance to organizations on how to use IT as a tool
to facilitate business change, transformation and growth. The
ITIL best practices are described in five core guides that map the
entire ITIL Service Lifecycle (see Figure).

• Service Strategy – understanding who the IT customers
are, the service offerings to meet their needs, and the IT
capabilities and resource to deliver the services
• Service Design – assures that new and changed services are
designed effectively to meet customer expectations, including
the technology, architecture and processes that will be required

The ITIL service lifecycle

• Service Transition – the service design is built, tested and
moved into production to assure that the business customer
can achieve the desired value
• Service Operation – delivers the service on an ongoing basis,
including managing disruptions to service and supporting
• Continual Service Improvement – measures and improves
the service levels, the technology and the efficiency and
effectiveness or processes. It incorporates many of the same
concepts articulated in the Deming Cycle of Plan-Do-

4 ITIL® books target audience
IT service providers and IT professionals in a wide range of roles.

5 Scope and constraints of ITIL® books
The IT Service Management lifecycle is from service strategy
through design, transition live operation and continuous
improvement. Used in organizations large and small, across many
different sectors worldwide.

Supported by quality services from a wide range of providers
including examination institutes, accredited training providers
and consultancies, software and tool vendors.

The updated guidance reflects the latest international standards
relating to service management, including the 2011 edition of
ISO/IEC 20000.

• Universally accepted as the good practice guidance for
IT Service Management, with process and service focus
• Supported by a vast community of ITIL practitioners,
gathered around itSMF (IT Service Management Forum)

When implementing ITIL-based IT Service Management
processes in an IT provider organization, the most common
pitfalls are:

• Narrow focus on the IT Unit’s technology and process
perspectives to gain incremental improvements (the
organization should be embarking on a radical transformation
journey to run IT as a business)
• Failing to do an assessment before implementing ITIL
practices (identifying how the current organization structure
compares to the ITIL framework and the changes that will be
needed to the organization and its culture)
• Short term expectations (it is not a quick fix, achieved with
just a handful of personnel trained and the purchase of some
ITIL tools)

6 ITIL® books relevant website

Read more

Please wait...

Added to your cart
Shop further or Process to checkout X
Shop further