Grid List

Set Ascending Direction

eSCM-SP books

1 Title/current version eSCM-SP books
eSCM-SP (eSourcing Capability Model for Service Providers)
Version 2

2 The basics of eSCM-SP books
eSCM-SP is a ‘best practice’ capability model for service
providers in IT-enabled sourcing, which can be used as both
an improvement roadmap and as a certification standard; it
complements eSCM-CL for clients.

3 Summary of eSCM-SP books
eSCM-SP is owned and supported by ITSqc, a spin-off from
Carnegie Mellon University. Version 1.0 was released in 2001;
the current version is Version 2.02 (2009). The model has three
purposes: to give service providers guidance that will help them
improve their capability across the sourcing lifecycle, to provide
clients with an objective means of evaluating the capability of
service providers, and to offer service providers a standard to use
when differentiating themselves from competitors.

Each of the Model’s 84 Practices is distributed along three
dimensions: Sourcing Lifecycle, Capability Area, and Capability
Level. Capability Areas provide logical groupings of Practices
to help users better remember and intellectually manage
the content of the Model. Service providers can then build
or demonstrate capabilities in a particular critical-sourcing
function. The ten Capability Areas are Knowledge Management,
People Management, Performance Management, Relationship
Management, Technology Management, Threat Management,
Service Transfer, Contracting, Service Design & Deployment,
and Service Delivery.

The five eSCM-SP Capability Levels indicate the level of an
organization’s capability. Level 1 indicates that the organization
is providing a service. A Level 2 organization has procedures in
place to enable it to consistently meet its clients’ requirements.
At Level 3, an organization is able to manage its performance
consistently across engagements. Level 4 requires that an
organization is able to add value to its services through
innovation. Service providers at Level 5 have proven that they can
sustain excellence over a period of at least two years, and have
demonstrated this through successive certifications.

4 eSCM-SP books Target audience 
Providers of IT-enabled services and their clients; regardless of
whether the service provider is an in-house provider, a shared
services unit, or an outsourced or offshore service provider.

5 Scope and constraints of eSCM-SP books
The guidance provided in the eSCM-SP can be applied by
providers of IT-enabled services in almost all market sectors and
service areas. The eSCM-SP has been designed to complement
existing quality models.

Most quality models focus only on design and delivery
capabilities: the eSCM-SP’s Sourcing Lifecycle includes Delivery,
and also Initiation and Completion of the contract. The two
phases are often the ones most critical to successful sourcing
relationships. The Sourcing Lifecycle also includes Overall
Practices, which span these Lifecycle phases. eSCM is twofold:
eSCM-CL for Clients and eSCM-SP for Service Providers. These
two models are consistent, symmetrical and complementary
for each side of the client-provider relationship and this is the
strength and the uniqueness of this model. Both models have
been used to ensure alignment of processes to build stronger

• Failing to define exact measures to be collected; the eSCM-SP
requires that organizations define the measures that they
wish to collect in order to manage their service delivery and
• Provides requirements (e.g. practices) for establishing service
management processes, rather than providing processes as is
the case with other frameworks, such as ITIL

6 Relevant website of eSCM-SP books

Read more

Please wait...

Added to your cart
Shop further or Process to checkout X
Shop further