Grid List

Set Ascending Direction

eSCM-CL books

1 Title/current version of eSCM-CL books
eSCM-CL (eSourcing Capability Model for Client Organizations)
Version 1.11

2 The basics of eSCM-CL books
eSCM-CL is a ‘best practices’ capability model for client
organizations seeking to improve their capabilities and
relationships when sourcing IT-enabled services; it complements
the eSCM-SP for service providers.

3 Summary of eSCM-CL books
eSCM-CL is owned and supported by ITSqc, a spin-off from
Carnegie Mellon University. Version 1.0 was released in 2006;
the current version is Version 1.11 (2010). The model has two
purposes: to give client organizations guidance that will help
them improve their capability across the sourcing lifecycle, and to
provide these organizations with an objective means of evaluating
their sourcing capability.

It is organized into Capability Areas covering major areas of
sourcing expertise, with 95 Practices that address the critical
capabilities needed by clients of IT-enabled services. Each
Practice is arranged along three dimensions: Sourcing Lifecycle,
Capability Area, and Capability Level. The Sourcing Lifecycle is
divided into Analysis, Initiation, Delivery, and Completion, plus
Ongoing, which spans the entire Sourcing Lifecycle.

The seventeen Capability Areas are logical groupings of
Practices that help users to remember and intellectually manage
the content of the Model. The five Capability Levels, numbered

1 through 5, describe an improvement path that progresses from
a limited capability to perform sourcing up to the highest level
of sustaining excellence over time in the client organization’s
sourcing activities.

4  eSCM-CL books Target audience
Client organizations who procure or source IT-enabled services.

5 Scope and constraints of eSCM-CL books
eSCM-CL relates to IT-enabled services. It addresses a full
range of client-organization tasks, ranging from developing
the organization’s sourcing strategy, planning for sourcing and
service provider selection, initiating an agreement with service
providers, managing service delivery, and completing the
agreement. Organizations can be certifi ed to the eSCM-CL.

eSCM is twofold: eSCM-CL for Clients and eSCM-SP for Service
Providers. These two models are consistent, symmetrical and
complementary for each side of the client-provider relationship
and this is the strength and the uniqueness of this model. Both
models have been used to ensure alignment of processes to
build stronger partnership relationships, focus on the primary
objectives of the sourcing initiative and sourcing strategy,
whether outsourcing, insourcing or shared services.

• Fails to define the client organization structure; rather provides
guidance to develop the sourcing functions and its workforce
• Emphasis on innovation is present; but assumes that stabilized
relationships and governance of service provision come first
(e.g. tactical first, strategic later)
• Provides requirements (e.g. practices) for establishing
sourcing processes, rather than providing sourcing processes
as is the case with other frameworks, such as ITIL

6 Relevant website eSCM-CL books

eSCM-CL Model:

Read more

Please wait...

Added to your cart
Shop further